Thread: BM firmware 6.1 The Good and The Bad

Page 5 of 12 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 117
  1. #41  
    Senior Member Taikonaut's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    3,172
    Quote Originally Posted by jimagine View Post
    I prefer my perspective, thanks.
    I prefer mine to be factual.

    Funny if a manufacturer ask you for payment for a fix telling you it is an improvement. I bet you won't take it.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #42  
    Senior Member Taikonaut's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    3,172
    I install FW 6.1 again and now the problem with the touch screen has gone away. I have a feeling this FW update may not initially completely clear the previous FW before over writing it with the new FW.
    Anyway the LUT selection and playback issue are still there that did not happen with FW 5.2. Anyone care to try this? When playback a video clip with LUT enabled, pause the screen then go and select a different LUT and then continue play. Does it or does it not change to the LUT selected? This use to work with FW 5.2 but not FW 6.1.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #43  
    Senior Member Taikonaut's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    3,172
    Quote Originally Posted by joe12south View Post
    "Fix" or "improvement", I'll take it.

    I'm glad BMD did the responsible thing and pushed a much needed maintenance release ahead of a feature release. Should additional features (BRAW, etc.) make it our way, I'll happily accept them, but honestly, I'd prioritize another round of bug-squashing and UI work ahead of any *new* features.
    Well you said it. Being responsible is to "fix" while an "improvement" is a bonus.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #44  
    Quote Originally Posted by Taikonaut View Post
    Anyway the LUT selection and playback issue are still there that did not happen with FW 5.2. Anyone care to try this? When playback a video clip with LUT enabled, pause the screen then go and select a different LUT and then continue play. Does it or does it not change to the LUT selected? This use to work with FW 5.2 but not FW 6.1.
    Hey, I did try this. And it looks like you are not able change LUT during playback mode. If you change LUT before going into playback mode, then you can preview different LUT.

    EDIT: only on/off via custom button or menu
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #45  
    Senior Member Taikonaut's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    3,172
    Quote Originally Posted by KrocanX View Post
    Hey, I did try this. And it looks like you are not able change LUT during playback mode. If you change LUT before going into playback mode, then you can preview different LUT.

    EDIT: only on/off via custom button or menu
    Thanks for confirming. If you roll back to FW 5.2 you can change LUT during playback. BMD please fix this.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #46  
    Just posted this to another thread, but I think I just discovered another 6.1 bug. Basically, there is a massive difference in contrast and dynamic range between the same shot in Raw vs. Prores. I downgraded to 5.2 and lo and behold, the issue is gone! It made shooting prores so bad looking, it was like an ordinary DSLR. I had to compensate by 2+ stops for the massive jump in gamma between the two in FW 6.1, and when I downgraded back to 5.2, changing between Raw and ProRes had ZERO effect on the dynamic range and it showed in the histogram as well as the image. Can others please confirm this so I'm not crazy?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #47  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    354
    Quote Originally Posted by Josh Allen csc View Post
    Just posted this to another thread, but I think I just discovered another 6.1 bug. Basically, there is a massive difference in contrast and dynamic range between the same shot in Raw vs. Prores. I downgraded to 5.2 and lo and behold, the issue is gone! It made shooting prores so bad looking, it was like an ordinary DSLR. I had to compensate by 2+ stops for the massive jump in gamma between the two in FW 6.1, and when I downgraded back to 5.2, changing between Raw and ProRes had ZERO effect on the dynamic range and it showed in the histogram as well as the image. Can others please confirm this so I'm not crazy?
    Not crazy, but maybe subject to operator error? And you're not specifying how you're judging DR. After normalization? Grading? Are you transforming one image but not another?

    Anyway, I don't see any sign of what you're describing, other than expected differences, based on the characteristics of ISO settings when shooting Prores.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #48  
    Yeah I think you're right - I just re upgraded to 6.1 and I think the Film setting wasn't checked off - thanks.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #49  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    213
    Are we even to the beta version of the firmware yet?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #50  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    740
    Quote Originally Posted by RAWlover View Post
    Are we even to the beta version of the firmware yet?
    The firmware is awesome - rock solid.
    That's a FUD comment.

    There are a lot of user errors after updates - like this one above.
    The upgrade process resets user settings and people don't know that and think that there are bugs.

    No bugs.
    Great 2nd gen firmware.
    Reply With Quote  
     

Similar Threads

  1. Firmware 4.8
    By Taikonaut in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12-24-2017, 07:15 AM
  2. Firmware 2.1
    By CaptainHook in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 172
    Last Post: 03-30-2015, 10:22 AM
  3. Firmware 1.8 is here! 4K RAW
    By ponysmasher in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 261
    Last Post: 06-25-2014, 12:47 PM
  4. Firmware 1.61 available
    By gmfb in forum BMCuser News & Info
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-10-2014, 09:32 PM
  5. Firmware 1.3
    By Mestizo Devon in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: 03-10-2013, 07:17 AM
Bookmarks
Bookmarks
Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •