Thread: Simple question, Can I use EF-S lenses?

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1 Simple question, Can I use EF-S lenses? 
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    25
    I feel like an idiot asking, I've heard you can use EF-s lenses on the bmcc EF? Just making sure before I pull the trigger ordering a few.


    cheers

    G
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    106
    Yes.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    25
    Cheers, thought so.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    London UK
    Posts
    3,100
    BMD won't ever say that EF-S is supported.

    I have used several EF-S lenses, and they've worked well.

    jb
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    106
    The main differences (only) between EF and EF-S is the rear element sticks out a little further, and have APS-C image circles. It makes it cheaper to make wider angle lenses for the smaller APS-C format. You can't use EF-S on a full frame camera: The mirror will slap. However, the mount and therefore the flange depth are identical.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    So does Image Stabalization work on the ef-s lenses on the bmcc? please don't tell me i don't need i.s. I absolutely NEED it. Just had a 3 day shoot saved by it last week. Had a gh2 without i.s. on a 4' slider, had all kinds of jitter when sliding. switched to my Canon 60d with 17-55 i.s. and the same exact shot was perfectly smooth. Tried to fix the non i.s. shots in post and u could see the warping. luckily we only used the non-i.s. for 1 shot which we reshot with I.S.
    If I can get my canon 17-55 with i.s. on the Bmcc then my mind is made up the bmcc is my next camera. I love that lens and seems like a good match for the small sensor of the bmcc.
    cheers,
    jayson
    youtube.com/AWDEfilms
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    106
    As far as I've heard, IS doesn't work at all with the current firmware build. But if it will work for EF, it will work with EF-S too. Can't imaging there would be a difference in the IS electronics.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    thx Kyle, so is there any word from Black Magic that future firmware will work with i.s. ?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #9  
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    London UK
    Posts
    3,100
    IS is due in the next firmware update.

    I've seen it working.

    jb
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #10  
    oh damn! that's what i want to hear! thx John! hope it works with ef-s!
    Reply With Quote  
     

Bookmarks
Bookmarks
Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •