Noise Reduction makes no effect

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Noise Reduction makes no effect

Hi guys, I am new to Davinci. Followed some tutorials on how to remove some noise from my BMCC 2.5 Raw footage filmed at 1600 ASA, o even 800 ASA. Unfortunately neither Davinci 9.101, no Davinci 9.16 have working NR threshold for me. I am not beginner in video, so I am sure everything I am doing is completely the same as others in Tutorials. Nothing happens to footage when I raise threshold and tweak other two parameters. I think there should be an easy answer, if you have any, please post, otherwise I will provide you with some visual proof - NR threshold does not work at all, no matter how much I boost it and other two sliders, I tried all possible variations. Please advise.

Is this resolve lite?
    Dustin Uy-Filmmaker

Comment

There is no NR in lite.
      Blog: http://frankglencairn.wordpress.com/

Comment

If lite, the NR controls should be dimmed out, correct? Shouldn't be able to access the sliders...

Comment

I found out the reason of this issue myself: it was because my iMac has different graphic card than what was required by Davinci 9. However this was sorted by installing Davinci 10.

Comment

I was talking about full version, not Lite. It works really great in Davinci 10.

Comment

is it pretty fast? I'm rendering an hour long program out of FCP X and using neat video. It's been running 24 hours and compressor estimates another 36.

Comment

It's neat video that's likely killing you. When I use it in AE, I pretty much have to pre-render everything with a neat video pass and go do something else. Slows the workflow down incredibly. Pre rendering means I'm not rendering noise reduction every time I make a change.

Which, in your case is true as well. Your client changes one second of your project and you're back to a 2-day render. For future projects, I'd consider rendering all your clips with neat and then doing your final edit.