New RAW workflow

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New RAW workflow

I'm new to RAW, but figured I should take full advantage and get all that I can out of my BMCC. I can't run Resolve on my computer, and I don't have AE, Lightroom, or any other programs that handle RAW relatively well. I do have Premiere and FilmConvert for editing and some basic coloring.

I ran across some new software called ClipHouse by Pomfort http://pomfort.com/cliphouse/. You can import the raw footage, copy and manage, color, then export to a format your NLE software can handle like ProRes or DNxHD. I'm wondering if this is a viable workflow, it seems much simpler than the Resolve workflow that I've read about (I'm sure the color correction isn't as powerful) but I also don't want to limit the RAW footage capabilities by compromising quality for a simplified workflow.

There's a 14 day free trial, I tested it out and seems like the answer to my RAW dilemma. Any thoughts?

Will work fine, or you could wait for the firmware update to BMCC ProRes debayer, or you could wait for the Premiere CinemaDNG true native support. Both are better solutions to me, I hate transcoding workflow.
    Twitter
    Vimeo

// work
    thedeltree.com
    // personal
    bnjmin.com

A little profile Vimeo made on me: https://vimeo.com/17763845

Comment

It's an adequate workflow, but the color correction is very basic. From what I figured, this is a simple converter program, so while shooting RAW, the computer converts it into something NLE can edit, instead of camera. It doesn't replace the Resolve, which is a true color correction program. You can also try Resolve Lite, which is free. Cliphouse for the money is the simplest and cheapest transcode program for getting RAW into an NLE.

Comment

Originally posted by benjaminreece View Post