Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Need help figuring out a Narrative film starter kit for a Noob within $10,000 USD

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need help figuring out a Narrative film starter kit for a Noob within $10,000 USD

Let me start off by saying that I am an aspiring filmmaker in college and my strengths and what made me pursue this career path was with good story concepts, writing, and just a love for movies inspired by the low budget likes of Rob Rodriguez and Kevin Smith(say what you will, be as a fellow man from Jersey, movies like Clerks first gave me the inclination that 'anyone' can make a movie). The equipment I've used have been pretty bare due to lack of budgeting from the school and low finance from family. I've only used the Canon XF300(outside of the crappy handi-cams used in high school), which is more of a doc style run and gun camera along with very simplistic three point lighting and using a boom.

With the introduction of the BMC, my thoughts on attending a more intensive film school either through transfer or grad have become less of an importance outside of networking as I can now create shorts and such with a much better cinematic feel and likely better off learning on my own through experience, blogs, forums, etc. I decided to take a year off school and use $10,000 to purchase what I will need for shooting about a 20-30 min short to send to festivals and build a reel with excellent production value. (as well as in the future freelancing for money on the side).