PDA

View Full Version : The perfect storage quest

Pietro Mingotti
06-16-2014, 12:21 PM
Hello everybody!

Writing from Italy here, so I hope my English is good enough for opening a techincal topic like this.

first of all: of course I've used the search function, and even though I found some interesting posts and answers, they didn't really fit the question I'm going to ask. So please, I know for the most advanced users it may be a no brainer, for me the following situation is becoming a huge problem...and I'm sure I'm not alone.

Ok, so here it is: I've been working with photography and film making for over 5 years now, which means that my first works where (and still are) stored on tape; I actually have a closet full of my Master tapes etc. The it came the time of the DSLR videomaking and in general, of the digital data stream. I've been working with several 2/3 TB external hard drives for many years, dividing them in categories like "work-in use" (and its backup), "work storage" (and its backup), "Scratch Disks", "Personal", "Stock", "Computer Backups"...etc. I perfectly knew that a horrible day would have come. That day where I start getting old (lol) and getting confused of which file goes where, and if I did make a backup or not, and when one of the hard drives gets full and I have to swap projects between hard drives waiting to buy a new one..... yes. A HUGE mess.

So I finally came up with submitting to the idea of investing money on buying a large array of units to connect in RAID (yes, I should have done it before...), and also the time has come to start buying some SSD drives. I've been working with Black Magic Cameras from time to time, renting them, and I am absolutely in love with the workflow and the image "taste". So I'm going to buy one. But with those huge DNG files, my situation is getting even worse.

So, going to my questions to you old pros of intelligent storage: