PDA

View Full Version : Lighting Conference Room with Large Window

Joechiazza
03-07-2014, 01:03 PM
Hey guys, how would you go about lighting this scene. I would love for the city in the background to not be blown out. I also don't want this to be super flat lighting because it is a drama. This is my first time lighting a scene like this. I will be shooting in 2.5k raw.

In my kit i have

2 lowel DPs
2 Lowel Omnis
1 Lowel Tota
1 Lowel Pro
1 Cheap 500w LED light
I have daylight gels for all of them. Let me know what you think. If you can think of any interesting camera angels I should try that would be helpful too. Thanks!!!

rze
03-07-2014, 05:51 PM
I would say your light kit is not optimal for that set up. It also depends on the look that you are going for. I would say you should do more with natural light and with a little fill. Once you gel those lights plus put any diffusion (which will be needed since those are all open face fixtures) they will barely make a difference. If you want dramatic perhaps closer to silhouettes might be cool.

vicharris
03-07-2014, 10:32 PM
Yeah, as soon as you add full CTB on those lights, you just reduced their power by 50%

Maybe some Flos just camera right with 5600 bulbs in em but you'll never get to where you want to be in the wides. CU, no problem though.

Possibly try a silver reflector, using the sunlight if you have it on the day, bouncing back in. I don't know but you need a lot more power. I used 3, 2Ks for something like this with full CTBs on em and it barely worked.

pacman829
03-07-2014, 11:07 PM
If you dont have a budget for brighter daylight balanced lights, I'd just say to invest in a couple Large reflectors (silver, but the kind with beads that spread out light a bit more evenly) and just go with that for key/fill

Should be able to make it so your background isnt too far gone

Bob Loblaw
03-08-2014, 12:55 AM