PDA

View Full Version : Different lenses for different looks

adam777
07-30-2012, 07:58 AM
I know that many TV series use the Arri Alexa with various lenses to obtain various looks. Puberty blues looks very soft which works well giving it a retro look. Many daily TV shows have a sharp look with the same camera using a different lense.

Does anyone know the camera and lenses used for the Australian TV series "Home and Away" as the look is very common for many Australian programs and TV programs worldwide? Its a very clean sharp look which regularly used for TV commercials. I'm mainly interested in what lenses are being used.

Cheers

ianim8
07-30-2012, 08:06 AM
I too am curious but to a wider scope as in tv shows, tv spots and movies (if all possible).
I'm just learning this craft now and come from a heavy 3D/Motion Design background.
Haven't ordered any lenses yet but have access to numerous resources at work and others :)
Maybe this topic can be helpful too all newcomers.

adam777
07-30-2012, 08:20 AM
I'm very interested in slowly buying good lenses that I really want. No regrets :)

Matthew Sonnenfeld
07-30-2012, 08:30 AM
From what I can tell, Home and Away does not publish their cameras and lenses in their technical aspects (you can find these often on IMDB).