PDA

View Full Version : BMPCC and Hyperdeck



Dafilman21
06-19-2013, 02:45 PM
Would you be able to hook up the hyperdeck shuttle to the Pocketcam to give yourself the ability to record to SSDS's?

jamesedge
06-19-2013, 03:39 PM
don't see why not... only question is whether the hdmi out is clean.

StephenH
06-19-2013, 08:23 PM
I believe that BM has indicated that you will be able to output Prores (not sure of DNG) over Clean HDMI (no overlay's).

Steve.

John Caballero
06-19-2013, 09:49 PM
I believe that BM has indicated that you will be able to output Prores (not sure of DNG) over Clean HDMI (no overlay's).

The output is just an image that bypasses your camera's compression and records to the external recorder. The recorder sets the recording format. I am pretty sure it will be possible to get a clean image from the Pocket Camera. It would make business sense to Black Magic.

marshallbaker
06-19-2013, 10:09 PM
What would be the advantage of recording ProRes to SSD instead of a SD card? Limitations in the size of high speed cards available, I guess?

Brian@202020
06-19-2013, 11:08 PM
What would be the advantage of recording ProRes to SSD instead of a SD card? Limitations in the size of high speed cards available, I guess?

Well you might also be able get the Hyperdeck Shuttle 2 plus a larger SSD around the same price as some of the smaller SD cards.

Dafilman21
06-20-2013, 11:53 PM
Exactly plus a SSD is more robust. Is it possible to record to the SSD and SD card at the same time?

Jason Greene
06-21-2013, 06:30 AM
Well you might also be able get the Hyperdeck Shuttle 2 plus a larger SSD around the same price as some of the smaller SD cards.

But, it would take a pretty large pocket to fit both the Pocket Camera and a Shuttle!

Brian@202020
06-21-2013, 06:46 AM
But, it would take a pretty large pocket to fit both the Pocket Camera and a Shuttle!

True, but if size doesn't matter that this is an option that some will make.

Qtmonster
01-06-2014, 07:51 AM
I would personally consider this combo as well, but the concern is that I read there's no way to monitor how much time is left for recording as there's no such indication on the Hyperdeck Shuttle 2. With higher budget, an Atomos Ninja 2 would make a better option.

Sarlacc
01-06-2014, 12:48 PM
My concern would be...both the hyperdeck and the ninja 2 allow for 10-bit recording...so aside from getting a larger shooting capacity you would decreasing your bit rate from 12 to 10. Which would, in theory, affect your post color grading abilities.

It might not matter if you're doing something as simple as shooting interviews or something that will require very little grading. But anything other than that, why take the hit?

Brian@202020
01-06-2014, 01:38 PM
ProRes recorded in camera is only 10 bit, so if most of your work is ProRes it is a viable option. I used my hyperdeck shuttle 2 until RAW was implimented. I already owned a hyperdeck shuttle 2 and I didn't want to buy SD cards until the official RAW compatible SD card list was released. It worked great and I did several jobs with that set up.

Sarlacc
01-06-2014, 01:46 PM
ProRes recorded in camera is only 10 bit, so if most of your work is ProRes it is a viable option. I used my hyperdeck shuttle 2 until RAW was implimented. I already owned a hyperdeck shuttle 2 and I didn't want to buy SD cards until the official RAW compatible SD card list was released. It worked great and I did several jobs with that set up.

My mistake...its 12 bit in RAW...my mojo is all out of whack today.

carlmart
01-06-2014, 03:54 PM
This Hyperdeck sounds like a very good plan for me, that I'm just buying my Pocket package.

How reliable is it? Any lost frames stories or anything? I ask that because I heard that Ninjas were not completely reliable when used on a professional user intensive basis, and some production companies were not trusting them anymore. I have that info from a reliable source, not a rumour.

Sarlacc
01-06-2014, 04:49 PM
i've had a ninja 2 since it's release. Its OK...Its definitely had little quirks...but it has performed.

It fucked me on one shoot...but there was a variable there, as I came on as an add'l operator and the DP wanted to use his drives. Even though they were on the approved list from atomos....something happened with everything shot on my camera.

I spent an entire day testing my set up after that...and had NO problems...

I just used my Ninja 2 shooting for a CBS holiday special and it performed fine.

robbin
01-06-2014, 07:44 PM
Hyperdeck shuttle2 and ninja1 doesn't do pulldown. So only ninja2 can do pulldown from hdmi signal giving you progressive footage. Hyperdeck shuttle2 given hd sdi signal can get progressive footage.

carlmart
01-07-2014, 04:24 AM
Hyperdeck shuttle2 and ninja1 doesn't do pulldown. So only ninja2 can do pulldown from hdmi signal giving you progressive footage. Hyperdeck shuttle2 given hd sdi signal can get progressive footage.

I knew there would be some trick to complicate using the Hyperdeck.

I'm not sure there is or if it would work or if it's advisable to use an HDMI to SDI adapter.

carlmart
01-07-2014, 05:28 AM
There's something I don't quite understand about this incompatibility with Hyperdeck's input.

They do have HDMI and SDI separate inputs/outputs, so is it certain that it will not take the HDMI signal from the Pocket?

According to B&H specs, the Hyperdeck accepts the following: 720p50, 720p59.94, 720p60, 1080i50, 1080i59.94, 1080i60, 1080PsF/23.98, 1080PsF/24, 1080PsF/25, 1080PsF/29.97, 1080PsF/30, 1080p23.98, 1080p24, 1080p25, 1080p29.97, and 1080p30.

All the specs having the "p" letter are supposed to be progressive, so why wouldn't the Hyperdeck accept the output from the Pocket. What am I missing?

robbin
01-07-2014, 06:51 AM
To my knowledge psf formats can only be transmitted in sdi signal. Hdmi specs doesn't support it.

carlmart
01-07-2014, 07:04 AM
Folks, I think you should check this topic at Blackmagic official forum:

http://forum.blackmagicdesign.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=17034&p=107055&hilit=hyperdeck#p107055

Apparently you can use the Hyperdeck with the Pocket with no problem.

I already opened another topic there over this question, but the one above seems to answer all.

Brian@202020
01-07-2014, 11:53 AM
Hyperdeck shuttle2 and ninja1 doesn't do pulldown. So only ninja2 can do pulldown from hdmi signal giving you progressive footage. Hyperdeck shuttle2 given hd sdi signal can get progressive footage.


I knew there would be some trick to complicate using the Hyperdeck.

I'm not sure there is or if it would work or if it's advisable to use an HDMI to SDI adapter.

This is true, the Hyperdeck shuttle 2 can not remove pulldown. That said it can read and record nearly any signal (whether standard or non standard signal) you throw at it, so if you can produce a 24p or 24psf signal it will record it regardless if it's HDMI or SDI. It's also pretty easy to remove pulldown in post.

robbin
01-07-2014, 11:56 PM
Doing 3:2 pulldown from 50i or 60i to get real 24p is not so easy i think inside an editing program. Or maybe you know some way i don't. I have no idea what signal pocket camera sends out from hdmi so can't advise on what external recoder works best

Brian@202020
01-08-2014, 02:15 AM
Doing 3:2 pulldown from 50i or 60i to get real 24p is not so easy i think inside an editing program. Or maybe you know some way i don't. I have no idea what signal pocket camera sends out from hdmi so can't advise on what external recoder works best

I believe It's 24p or 24psf depending on which firmware is in the camera, but even if the camera added a pulldown to the 24p and put it into a 60i wrapper it is easy to remove in post via compressor or any similar program. It wouldn't be a straight 60i since the BMPCC's sensor can not produce such a signal.

robbin
01-08-2014, 03:02 AM
Don't think 24 psf is possible over hdmi. All hdmi cameras i have sends 24p in 50i or 60i wrapper and only way to deinterlace it is using compressor or other similar programs. Buying ninja2 is safest bet as it can do pulldown and you won't need to transcode clips.

Brian@202020
01-08-2014, 03:27 AM
It is possible and the Hyperdeck shuttle can record such a non standard signal. I have an SDI to HDMI converter that creates such a signal. Also the Hyperdeck shuttle itself is capable of creating such a signal if you have SDI coming in and HDMI coming out. It's been a while since I've tested my BMPCC's signal but I believe it changed in a recent firmware update to 24p from the non standard 24psf. That said you are correct, if the buyer has the budget for it, the Ninja 2 is probable a better choice for several reasons.

Peter J. DeCrescenzo
01-08-2014, 03:43 AM
Plus, doesn't the Hyperdeck Shuttle have a button (DISP) that does nothing at all, even after a couple of years of firmware updates, or did BMD finally assign it a function?