PDA

View Full Version : Approved SSDs?



yokone
06-30-2012, 12:12 PM
I have searched for it but it cannot for the life of me find it.

I've heared that BM has a list of approved SSD that you should use with your BMC but i cannot find that list.

Is there even such a list available right now or do we have to wait until it ships?

Peter J. DeCrescenzo
06-30-2012, 12:26 PM
BMD hasn't published a list of SSD drives certified for use with the BMCC because the camera isn't shipping yet.

In general, SSDs recommended for use with the BMD Hyperdeck line of products will probably work with the BMCC, too, but can't be guaranteed compatible until tested as such with the final production version of the camera.
http://www.blackmagic-design.com/support/detail/faqs/?sid=3960&pid=3968&os=mac

FWIW, John Brawley is using OCZ Vertex-3 240GB SSD drives with BMCC prototypes.

Also, prices for SSDs are constantly falling. A SSD you buy today will likely sell for less (possibly significantly less) by the time you have a BMCC in your hands.

Finally, the saying "YMMV" was made for just such situations. Cheers!

Tom
06-30-2012, 12:27 PM
http://www.bmcuser.com/showthread.php?259-SSD-warning&p=6255&viewfull=1#post6255 See this post, a BM rep lists compatible Drives.

Also, John Brawley has said that he has used the OCZ Vertex 3 240gb SSD's and they work fine.

Fabián Matas
06-30-2012, 12:28 PM
Since the camera have a shuttle embeded inside we can supposse:

http://www.blackmagic-design.com/support/detail/supportnotes/supportnote/?sid=3960&pid=3968&os=mac&isSDK=0&snid=23763

Confirmed since now:

http://www.thephoblographer.com/2012/06/13/questions-with-terry-frechette-director-of-marketing-americas-at-blackmagic-design/

No official list released, I will wait because It's possible the price go down a little bit.

zellernewman
06-30-2012, 07:22 PM
When I asked BM they told me that upon the BMCC'S actual release they will provide a list of approved ssd's

Peter J. DeCrescenzo
06-30-2012, 08:57 PM
Ouch. This just in (I own one of these SSD drives, too):
http://twitter.com/brawlster/status/219209154210971648

JIKIJI
06-30-2012, 09:20 PM
I would really recommend to wait until you have an official list though, I'd probably buy one when i see the list and then wait for the prices to drop so I can get my hands on a few more ;)

Phil
07-01-2012, 03:53 AM
I use a couple of crucial M4 512GB drives with the SI2K & they seem to be fine at 25fps Cineform.. Recorded 18hrs of footage with them over 3 days just this week!

Peter J. DeCrescenzo
07-01-2012, 11:55 AM
I wonder which SSD drive JB is shooting on now ...
http://twitter.com/brawlster/status/219322421361127424/photo/1/large

... following yesterday's apparent disaster (http://twitter.com/brawlster/status/219209154210971648?425-Approved-SSDs&p=7804&viewfull=1#post7804)?

Phil
07-01-2012, 03:05 PM
I wonder which SSD drive JB is shooting on now ...
http://twitter.com/brawlster/status/219322421361127424/photo/1/large


did you find yourself looking at the two little screens to see if you can spot a difference in the latitude?

mhood
07-01-2012, 04:09 PM
Oh my! How unnerving. Can you imagine using your new BMC on a paying gig and having your SSD fail on you? That's a dream alright...a nightmare.

Macalincag
07-01-2012, 04:16 PM
Ouch. This just in (I own one of these SSD drives, too):
http://twitter.com/brawlster/status/219209154210971648

Too bad. These are going for incredibly cheap too. I also think one of the resellers taking pre-orders is including these in their package. Yikes.

Peter J. DeCrescenzo
07-01-2012, 04:21 PM
did you find yourself looking at the two little screens to see if you can spot a difference in the latitude?

Yep! ;-)

RyGuy
07-01-2012, 04:27 PM
Yep! ;-)

OT: The BMC's screen doesn't display the video in log, but a more contrasty version of it from what I remember, so you'd be getting probably more range than what you will see on the screen :)

Now lets get back on topic because I want this thread to survive.

SantaCruzMichael
07-23-2012, 11:27 AM
Ok, this thread needs to come back to the top of the forum.

Based on Dan May's interview last week, it sounds like we're close to a release. Those of us expecting one of the first units to ship need to get drives so we can hit the ground running... and start uploading sample footage for everyone to peep... : )

Are any SSD drives proven and approved yet?

(I know there is a list on the Blackmagic site, but since the top drive on that list has turned out to be problematic, how am I to trust the others?)

Osslund
07-23-2012, 12:39 PM
I have OCZ, Intel and Sandisk drives so we'll see how they work. I'm using Intel SSD with my Atomos Samurai and it works flawless in Prores HQ.

awbacon
07-23-2012, 12:49 PM
I had ordered the vertex 3 but after the failure rate feedback I changed the order to a crucial m4 that was certified by bm for the shuttle. It was actually on promo sale at b&h for 30 off, making it 170, as opposed to the 200 of the vertex.

Now I just wait to see when the camera ships haha

Brad Ferrell
07-23-2012, 01:47 PM
I ordered two Crucial M4s for my editing/coloring workstation, a boot and a scratch disc. Still waiting for the approved list and just plan on going to Fry's and picking up a couple the day I pick up the camera (hoping they'd have the list by then).

Phil
07-25-2012, 03:43 PM
I ordered two Crucial M4s for my editing/coloring workstation, a boot and a scratch disc. Still waiting for the approved list and just plan on going to Fry's and picking up a couple the day I pick up the camera (hoping they'd have the list by then).

Since they upgraded the firmware on the M4 its been working ace for us with the SI2K, we have 2 x 512GB SSDs that we use all the time, not a single issue. If your buying a new one then it should be cool. They are really good value just now, I think the 512GB is a fair bit less then €400 just now!

Cornelius
07-25-2012, 04:34 PM
Imagine in the near future we'll have 2TB SSD drives. . . woah

awbacon
07-25-2012, 04:47 PM
Imagine in the near future we'll have 2TB SSD drives. . . woah

Insane isn't it? My first computer didn't HAVE a hard drive (makes me feel old)

daveswan
07-26-2012, 08:37 AM
My first computer didn't even have a floppy drive.

I'll stop now before this turns into a "Four Yorkshire men sketch" thread

Peter J. DeCrescenzo
07-26-2012, 09:11 AM
Obviously it depends on ones risk tolerance, and of course can be project-driven, but especially given SSD's somewhat spotty reliability record: Recording more than 30-60 minutes (sometimes less!) of original footage on a single SSD might not be wise. The cliche "Don't put all you eggs in one basket." exists for a very good reason!

Also, making multiple backups immediately after shooting, or if possible, recording onto another device in parallel (such as a Hyperdeck Shuttle attached to the HD-SDI output) would seem to be a good idea.

On a positive note, the nice thing about digital media is that it's relatively easy & inexpensive to back-up. But that fact only works in your favor if you actually remember to make the back-ups (plural, including a back-up that lives off-site).

What, me paranoid? Yep! ;-)

m0fe
07-26-2012, 10:46 AM
OCZ sent me a replacement for one of my failed vertex 3 drive, props to them for sending me a vertex 4. Still don't trust them.

JIKIJI
07-26-2012, 11:47 AM
I wonder if the Seagate Momentus XT would work as an SSD? its only $139.99 for 750GB but I wonder if this works as an SSD as well as being a Hybrid since it does both, I'm kinda confused but it would be very cheap if this one works. If someone can tell me if it really is 750GB for SSD storage? thanks

laco
07-26-2012, 12:06 PM
I wonder if the Seagate Momentus XT would work as an SSD? its only $139.99 for 750GB but I wonder if this works as an SSD as well as being a Hybrid since it does both, I'm kinda confused but it would be very cheap if this one works. If someone can tell me if it really is 750GB for SSD storage? thanks

NO. It has a small SSD, and a big HDD.
It analyses what kind of files do you need to access fast (like OS files, program files), and it puts them on to the SSD. Other files go to the HDD.

The only way for the BMC is buying a real SSD.

T2.8
07-26-2012, 01:25 PM
I like my OCZ Vertex-3 as a system drive in my PC, but will not use it for video capture. Most SSDs are maximized for speed, reading short files (program soft ware).
Capture video is about writing long files by sequential writing. So when to choose SSD look for good values in sequential write. 4:2:2, 24 fps needs about 120 MB/s minimum.

I find this info at:

http://www.cinemartin.com/blog/SSD-benchmarks-for-video-purposes.htm

The info maybe a little old but still valid.

laco
07-26-2012, 01:42 PM
I like my OCZ Vertex-3 as a system drive in my PC, but will not use it for video capture. Most SSDs are maximized for speed, reading short files (program soft ware).
Capture video is about writing long files by sequential writing. So when to choose SSD look for good values in sequential write. 4:2:2, 24 fps needs about 120 MB/s minimum.

I find this info at:

http://www.cinemartin.com/blog/SSD-benchmarks-for-video-purposes.htm

The info maybe a little old but still valid.

When recording in RAW one frame from the BMC measures 5MBs
so:
24fps = 120MB/s
25fps = 125MB/s
30fps = 150MB/a

the Vertex is capable for these speeds (as BMD recommended this drive for the Hyperdeck too), so the problem is that it isn't reliable...

Brad Ferrell
07-26-2012, 02:15 PM
Obviously it depends on ones risk tolerance, and of course can be project-driven, but especially given SSD's somewhat spotty reliability record: Recording more than 30-60 minutes (sometimes less!) of original footage on a single SSD might not be wise. The cliche "Don't put all you eggs in one basket." exists for a very good reason!

Also, making multiple backups immediately after shooting, or if possible, recording onto another device in parallel (such as a Hyperdeck Shuttle attached to the HD-SDI output) would seem to be a good idea.

On a positive note, the nice thing about digital media is that it's relatively easy & inexpensive to back-up. But that fact only works in your favor if you actually remember to make the back-ups (plural, including a back-up that lives off-site).

What, me paranoid? Yep! ;-)

I've been offering DIT services for about three years now and can't stress enough to my clients the need for adequate backups. I've stopped talking to them about it and just add it into my cost of operating.

Andrew_HD
07-26-2012, 02:20 PM
I did not have a single problem on any of my SSDs as a system drives- running many in different PCs- mainly OCZ and Crucial.

If BMC camera is designed well (all what it need is bit of RAM as cache) than with good SDD there should no REAL problems at all. I would expect not more problems than with eg SR tapes, which I don't think that are so, so reliable (eg copy 100x 200GB files and clone 100x SR tapes- which is more reliable?).
I hope BM implemented recording mechanism well as this is very important part of the whole system.
With 2 copies of all asset it should be 99.99% reliable- just do 2nd copy and you should be fine :)

Cornelius
07-26-2012, 06:03 PM
My first computer didn't even have a floppy drive.

I'll stop now before this turns into a "Four Yorkshire men sketch" thread

Computer! HAH! We'd be so lucky to OWN a computer. We all use to just bang a stick on a rock and pretend we were on a computer. . . And we lived in a lake!

JIKIJI
07-26-2012, 06:42 PM
NO. It has a small SSD, and a big HDD.
It analyses what kind of files do you need to access fast (like OS files, program files), and it puts them on to the SSD. Other files go to the HDD.

The only way for the BMC is buying a real SSD.

Thanks for the info.

mhood
07-28-2012, 12:34 PM
Well???? (he said tapping his foot in an increasingly frustrated manner). 7/28/12

drgeneric
08-13-2012, 02:10 PM
In the official BMC FAQ (http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/support/detail/faqs?sid=27541&pid=27542&os=mac), there is a section named What SSD's should I use with the HyperDecks? listing some SSDs. I've just mailed them to ask whether this is a typo and they should have written BMC instead. They just replied my (quite instantly, btw.):


the SSD's for use with the Cinema Camera should be the same list as for the Hyperdeck.

So when it's about spending a lot of money on SSDs, it not just should work, it simply has to. So I think we still need to wait until the definite list is out.

(BTW: Is has already been mentioned that the FAQ is up somewhere on this forum, but I could not find the post anymore. So please excuse if this is a double-post).

mexicanmanchild
08-20-2012, 08:21 PM
Just saw this. Looks like the approved list is available in the FAQ's now.
Seems like it's the same as the Hyperdeck list

http://www.blackmagic-design.com/support/detail/faqs?sid=27541&pid=27542&os=mac