PDA

View Full Version : Inherent DOF characteristics tied to sensor size

jeebus
04-09-2013, 08:44 AM
Hey everyone,

I was wondering if someone could help me understand the complexities of dof as it relates to sensor size. A little bit of background:

I've been shooting projects for around 3 years now. I've always understood that dof at a given stop, distance from subject, and focal length, would be shallower on a larger sensor as opposed to a smaller sensor. All of my real world results, researching, and dof apps seemed to have confirmed this. I'm currently 1/2 way through a cinematography degree at Columbia College Chicago and had all of this understanding thrown out the window during class last night.

We were discussing lens characteristics (coatings, mtf, abberations, hyperfocal distances, etc...) when the conversation slightly turned to the aptly named circle of confusion. The point in which the conversation turned was when we were discussing "a 50 is a 50 is a 50" no matter what format. I completely understand that all of the spatial relationships between objects in a frame do not change when switching a lens from one sized sensor to another. However, my teacher said that the dof characteristics do not change either. When I contested that in fact dof does change, she brought up circle of confusion.