PDA

View Full Version : Film Lighting Tips For A Photographer

nickjbedford
05-30-2012, 12:50 AM
I was thinking, I'm a photographer by default, and whilst I've been feverishly studying and analysing drama and blockbusters and everything I can get my hands to get a picture of how I would go about lighting my video scenes to a high standard, I've only had very little experience and that experience has been with the bare necessities. The more I work on treatments and build scene and shot lists for my first narrative + performance music video, the more I'm coming to terms with the idea of hiring some legitimate (though smaller) production lights and working out the grip gear I need to successfully light shots. I have pretty high standards for myself when it comes to releasing the first legitimate video I shoot which is why I'm hesitant to go all out before I've got the knowledge I need.

What I mean is that I can use the tools I've acquired over my two years in portrait photography to light a scene pretty effectively, and for the most part the tools needed are relatively small, cheap and electrically portable (speedlites). What I'm obviously facing now is using that lighting knowledge in photography and moving to lighting moving, changing scenes.

As an example, this is how I lit this scene with the result below it.

http://img821.imageshack.us/img821/2263/photo3esk.jpg

http://img137.imageshack.us/img137/2638/photo4y.jpg

I've been noticing in shows and films that, like photo shoots, the light doesn't necessarily have to even reflect where lights may be in the real scene and if done well, you never even notice. I expect that either two or three point drama lighting will be the best course of action for my drama-based narrative in the music video. Couple going through the motions of a break up is the narrative.

What would I expect to need to be able to get the flexibility of lighting setups like these? My best guess right now is something like these.