PDA

View Full Version : ETTR, how do you see anything on the screen?

iunknown
02-08-2013, 08:14 PM
When I expose to 100% zebras I can't see anything. Are people using external monitors to do this? Do the luts you load onto the external monitors allow to set the exposure -2 so you can see what you are shooting?

John Brawley
02-08-2013, 10:30 PM
When I expose to 100% zebras I can't see anything. Are people using external monitors to do this? Do the luts you load onto the external monitors allow to set the exposure -2 so you can see what you are shooting?

If you're shooting RAW, just use the ISO and set it to 200 or 400.

jb

EDIT. This has no effect on how the Zebra's respond, which are ISO independent....

iunknown
02-08-2013, 10:36 PM
Haha, thanks John. Man I'm a newb.

jambredz
02-09-2013, 11:13 AM
And if not shooting raw?

John Brawley
02-09-2013, 05:59 PM
It's more difficult. Because when you lower the ISO in ProRes, you will sacrifice some DR.

Remembering this is a work around to ETTR that causes the LCD screen to be very bright. It's bright, especially in VIDEO because you're overexposing it. Another solution is to switch to FILM monitoring. Then you'll see everything, but sort of washed out....

jb

dcloud
02-09-2013, 06:27 PM
so far on my case, i use a fader or ND filter and set the ISO to 800. no ways getting around it on prores. you shoot like any normal camcorder. so an external monitor would defnitely help.

teh
02-10-2013, 02:26 PM
I pretty sure this was discussed before but what the best way to get you exposure right when shooting prores? Setting zebras at 100 like in Raw?

iunknown
02-16-2013, 06:50 PM
John, did some more testing with this today. The thing I don't get, if ISO is just metadata, then why does my clipping point when I change to 800? I expose for 200 iso, and see no zebras, but when I change it to 800, I see zebras??? Halsu thread below also seems like something changes in ISO 200 and 400: