PDA

View Full Version : Custom Crop Marks?



marshallbaker
05-17-2012, 11:44 PM
Sorry if this has been posted somewhere but I did a search first. Maybe only John B can answer but does anyone know if it will be possible to have custom crop mark overlays? For instance, on my T3i and T2i, with Magic Lantern, I am able to have custom 2.35:1 cinescope overlay etc.... Doesn't actually crop the video at all, but allows me to frame for it on set.

Anyone know if that's a feature?

Thanks!

nickjbedford
05-18-2012, 01:23 AM
You do get safe areas, which may be useful until such a feature is implemented but I think it's not in there right now.

I also would like to have 2.35:1 letterbox overlay in there to shoot with as that's what I have been cropping to.

laco
05-18-2012, 05:27 AM
you will most definitely have to buy an external monitor for this camera.
Choose one, that has a crop mark feature:)

marshallbaker
05-19-2012, 08:22 PM
I guess I can hope this camera is the next 5dmII, and the magic lantern peeps hack it w a version of magic lantern.

bueller
05-19-2012, 10:52 PM
I mentioned this to Chris (project manager) at the NAB show as well.