PDA

View Full Version : BMCC at The Dutch

jchriston
11-30-2012, 01:38 PM
Since everyone's asking for footage. As I say in the description, don't pixel peep too hard - I am well aware of the issues and I can assure you that they aren't BMCC's fault - this isn't how the final project is going to live (which without going further, is why it's shot 29.97, etc), I just wanted to throw up some footage.

https://vimeo.com/54616693

Link: https://vimeo.com/54616693

My description copy and pasted:

"Don't pixel peep too hard - this was shot in 29.97 at 2.5k RAW - then rendered out to 24p in Resolve using the Rec709 color space - not BMD Film (forgot to upgrade Resolve before doing it, and chose to get this out the door rather than wait). I feel as though I could have gotten more out of the video with BMD Film. Also I'm not a professional colorist by any means. Some highlights are tinted slightly off, etc. All could be fixed. And it would have looked nicer if I processed it to 29.97 (which will be it's final format, I just didn't do it for this). Also the tripod/dolly we were using were not really optimal (super light weight tripod with a crappy video head, and a motion control slider that's meant for time lapses), so there are wobbles and jitters present. A lot of the shots are sped up too, so that might accentuate any weirdness. Don't look too hard into it. Also on the full prores outputs there's no visible moire to me on the skyscrapers at the end, which were shot handheld from a car. Basically like I said - don't pixel peep too hard into this footage. Lastly - I don't know what's going on with the beginning of the clip - that's something vimeo added and I've tried re-uploading it a couple of times. I can assure you, before anyone asks, that these are NOT CAMERA faults.

Lenses used:
Leica R 19mm f/2.8
Zeiss ZF 28mm f/2
Leica R 60mm f/2.8

All wide open. All natural lighting.

The camera really is amazing