PDA

View Full Version : MFT Zoom lenses?

FrissionMedia
10-18-2012, 12:59 PM
I think about to pull the trigger on switching to the MFT version. The decision is based off of wanting more lens options for creative projects (anamorphic, pl glass, etc).

The thing is, I do commercials as my bread & butter, usually as a one man band, and I would like to get 1 (or 2 if necessary) nice zoom lenses for my day to day, so I don't have to switch glass all the time and don't have to carry a bunch of primes.
I'm just beginning my journey into MFT lenses so I don't really know what my options are.

Something like the Panasonic Lumix G X Vario 12-35mm f/2.8 would be perfect but it's electronic. Is there anything else similar that I could use?

daveswan
10-18-2012, 01:39 PM
AFAIK there are no native manual m4/3 zooms. You would have to look for a vintage manual zoom, which because of it's age would be less likely to give good results than the vintage primes most people talk about, and would 1) have a shorter range 2) not go very wide, in fact probably start around 35mm and go to 105mm (The 35-105 f/3.5 was a mainstay of vintage manual zooms), giving you a medium to long tele range.

Sorry to be a wet blanket.

morgan_moore
10-18-2012, 01:54 PM
You have one option to consider (with many caveats).. MTF Alistair chapman make a wide angle converter for 2/3 ENG zooms that have a built in doubler

Beyond that I see the BMC as pretty much prime time

S

Kyle Prohaska
10-29-2012, 05:56 PM
The mount is passive but doesn't that simply mean the zoom lens will be kept wide open? Or does it mean it will simply stay at whatever setting it was left at least time it was on a MFT camera? If someone had a cheap Gh1 or something lying around you could technically change iris on that and then transfer the lens? Hassle but on a normal set I wonder if it's possible? Otherwise wide open on a lot of those zooms that are F4 or above wouldn't be that bad.