PDA

View Full Version : Composite Window

weis5on
02-17-2015, 09:47 PM
I recently ran across a video in which someone used a matte node to do a sky replacement in Resolve. The result wasn't bad; but, it got me thinking. I've seen large production films use green screens in backgrounds and on windows to create properly exposed exterior shots. How time consuming of a process is that? Is that typically done in Nuke or After Effects? I have no experience with that work, and I'm genuinely curious. Also, if the window in your scene had no movement across it and the camera was locked down such as in a talking head shot, would that be a much easier process to composite? Under those circumstances could you use Resolve matte node or add alpha matte to replace a blown out window with a shot of the same window stopped down? Seemed like an interesting way to match outside exposure without using a ton of lights or ND window treatment. I tried it in Resolve and it looked pretty bad, but I had never tried it before, so that's not an indication that it can't be done.

Thanks

KurtF
02-17-2015, 11:49 PM
Don't know about the time involved, but here is an interesting behind the scenes on "Gone Girl" which used studio sets and green screens. Mostly for sound, but also for lighting and background control.

http://nofilmschool.com/2014/12/david-fincher-gone-girl-vfx-reel-artemple

Should be doable for most folks, but you've got to have the space, the lighting gear, and the software/skills to track the shot, pull the key, and composite the footage.

Howie Roll
02-18-2015, 12:56 AM