PDA

View Full Version : SSD Drive caddies



drew.saracco
09-24-2012, 10:44 AM
Hey guys, so this is probably a stupid question, but here's the deal: I have an older (Late 2006) Mac Pro, and am looking for an SSD caddy that I can use to transfer my footage from the SSD to my working drive. The only issue is, my computer doesn't have any E-Sata ports, and obviously no Thunderbolt...so the best I'm working with here is FW800. Does anyone have any recommendations on what to purchase? Obviously, because of the limitations of my system, I plan on shooting ProRes until I buy a new system. Thanks!!!

ianim8
09-24-2012, 10:59 AM
There are USB ones.
You can also get a eSATA PCI Card then get an eSATA SSD Dock.

karn105
09-24-2012, 05:54 PM
Does anyone know of ones that work bus powered? I would like to be able to dump to a laptop in the field in addition to having eSata for faster transfer at home.

kgimedia
09-24-2012, 06:09 PM
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/controller/home?O=&sku=693313&Q=&is=REG&A=details

thegregferris
09-24-2012, 06:50 PM
The Sonnet stuff is pretty reliable http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/search?Ntt=Sonnet+e-sata&N=0&InitialSearch=yes&sts=ma&Top+Nav-Search= and bus powered for the laptop.

kgimedia
09-24-2012, 07:41 PM
The Sonnet stuff is pretty reliable http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/search?Ntt=Sonnet+e-sata&N=0&InitialSearch=yes&sts=ma&Top+Nav-Search= and bus powered for the laptop.

With that solution the drive still needs power from outside source. The only bus powered solution for a pre Thunderbolt laptop is Firewire800. For a pre Thunderbolt I would recommend a data doubler and a Firewire800 adapter. http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/drive_bracket/datadoubler/

For a Mac Pro a eSata card and eSata dock is the best option.

mhood
09-24-2012, 08:39 PM
What's not to like about this? http://www.apricorn.com/products/notebook-hard-drive-upgrade-kits/sata-wire-3.html

karn105
09-24-2012, 11:36 PM
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/controller/home?O=&sku=693313&Q=&is=REG&A=details

Oh cool. I didn't realize those were a standard SATA connection. I'm assuming the Thunderbolt one works too?

kgimedia
09-25-2012, 11:23 AM
Oh cool. I didn't realize those were a standard SATA connection. I'm assuming the Thunderbolt one works too?Yes I have both and they have been working great. Just no BMCC yet. My plan in a mobile environment is to dump to my second internal 1TB spinning drive from the SSD via Thunderbolt and to start with about a TB of SSD's. This should give me 4 hours of RAW or 20 hours of ProRes. In a non mobile situation with power available I am looking at the GoFLex desk dock.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/860104-REG/Seagate_STAE122_GoFlex_Desk_Thunderbolt_Adapter.ht ml

mhood
10-08-2012, 07:47 AM
Trying again: Will this work? http://www.apricorn.com/products/notebook-hard-drive-upgrade-kits/sata-wire-3.html

1278

Frank Glencairn
10-08-2012, 09:04 AM
Yeah, should work - I'm using the one that came with the Samurai in the moment. Doesn't need an AC adapter ether.

mhood
10-08-2012, 09:20 AM
Thanks Frank. This seems like a winner for me and my portable setup. I'm trying to keep all the tech bits in a single 1510 Pelican carry on (7D as backup too) and this should really help a bunch.

Brian@202020
10-08-2012, 09:38 AM
Trying again: Will this work? http://www.apricorn.com/products/notebook-hard-drive-upgrade-kits/sata-wire-3.html

1278

Yeah that should work. Nice inexpensive find.

gsbe
10-08-2012, 01:17 PM
They'll get you with the $15+ shipping, making the total purchase around $44.15
Yeah that should work. Nice inexpensive find.

mhood
10-08-2012, 01:42 PM
They'll get you with the $15+ shipping, making the total purchase around $44.15

Try it here then: http://www.amazon.com/Apricorn-Notebook-Drive-Upgrade-ASW-USB3-25/dp/B005C983NA

Or here: http://www.amazon.com/Apricorn-Notebook-Drive-Upgrade-ASW-USB-25/dp/B002EUCU3O/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1349721835&sr=1-1

With rebate we're getting under $15. Stoopid cheap...must be something wrong with it. ;-)

mbeck
10-08-2012, 02:47 PM
Just ordered one! Sounds too good to be true! We will see :)

mhood
10-08-2012, 03:06 PM
Just ordered one! Sounds too good to be true! We will see :)

I took the plunge too but unlike some of us, I don't have a camera to test it on. ;-)

mbeck
10-08-2012, 03:08 PM
I took the plunge too but unlike some of us, I don't have a camera to test it on. ;-)
You don't need the camera to test it. Just grab your SSD and load it up with DNG files! :)

mhood
10-08-2012, 03:14 PM
You don't need the camera to test it. Just grab your SSD and load it up with DNG files! :)

I refuse to buy any SSDs until I have my camera's shipping tracking number. ;-)

mbeck
10-08-2012, 03:35 PM
I refuse to buy any SSDs until I have my camera's shipping tracking number. ;-)
Probably a good idea.. SSD prices drop more often than a Kardashian's pants!

mhood
10-08-2012, 03:37 PM
Probably a good idea.. SSD prices drop more often than a Kardashian's pants!

LOL! Yea, big spender here. I can afford to toss $20 at this cable because I can use it to update the HD on a new laptop I'm buying for personal use. I guess I could justify an SSD for the same reason, though....

Cedric Akins
10-08-2012, 08:51 PM
Here is one (http://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-Aluratek-2-5-3-5-External-Superspeed-USB-3-0-Hard-Drive-Docking-Enclosure-/150898705847?pt=US_Drive_Enclosures_Docks&hash=item23224385b7) that I bought.

mhood
10-08-2012, 09:41 PM
Here is one (http://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-Aluratek-2-5-3-5-External-Superspeed-USB-3-0-Hard-Drive-Docking-Enclosure-/150898705847?pt=US_Drive_Enclosures_Docks&hash=item23224385b7) that I bought.

That one eats up too much space in the 1510 Pelican carry on.

Cedric Akins
10-08-2012, 09:50 PM
That one eats up too much space in the 1510 Pelican carry on. Besides, it seems to be USB 2.0.

No... it's usb 3.0. But I can understand the space requirement. But those others seem to fit what you are looking for size wise.

gsbe
10-09-2012, 08:17 AM
No... it's usb 3.0. But I can understand the space requirement. But those others seem to fit what you are looking for size wise.
Better triple check that when it arrives. The ebay description says USB 2 in a number of places but USB 3 in the title...

iunknown
10-09-2012, 10:30 AM
Mhood, this one looks like it does both, caddy on your desk, and just cable option for the field.
http://www.amazon.com/Syba-Docking-2-5-Inch-3-5-Inch-SD-ENC50037/dp/B0051GN906/ref=sr_1_22?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1349796569&sr=1-22&keywords=Hard+Drive+Docking+Enclosure

Looks like these work for office situation:
http://www.amazon.com/Plugable-Docking-Station-LucidPort-chipset/dp/B003UI62AG/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1349796354&sr=1-1&keywords=Hard+Drive+Docking+Enclosure
http://www.amazon.com/Uspeed-Superspeed-External-Docking-Chipsets/dp/B005UA3I72/ref=sr_1_2?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1349796550&sr=1-2&keywords=Hard+Drive+Docking+Enclosure

mhood
10-09-2012, 03:40 PM
Mhood, this one looks like it does both, caddy on your desk, and just cable option for the field.
http://www.amazon.com/Syba-Docking-2-5-Inch-3-5-Inch-SD-ENC50037/dp/B0051GN906/ref=sr_1_22?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1349796569&sr=1-22&keywords=Hard+Drive+Docking+Enclosure


Sweet! Thanks!

Tim Joy
10-10-2012, 08:58 AM
I saw the SATA Wire at Best Buy for $29, but after looking at amazon prices and reviews, decided against it due to some people having sudden disconnections. Went with this one, and although it's not bus powered or super fast, it will connect any sata drive or IDE drive. It has been flawless so far.

http://www.amazon.com/Cables-Go-30504-Serial-Adapter/dp/B000UO6C5S/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1349877436&sr=8-1&keywords=cables+to+go+sata

Not an ultimate solution, but cheap to get me started.

Brian@202020
10-10-2012, 09:04 AM
I saw the SATA Wire at Best Buy for $29, but after looking at amazon prices and reviews, decided against it due to some people having sudden disconnections. Went with this one, and although it's not bus powered or super fast, it will connect any sata drive or IDE drive. It has been flawless so far.

http://www.amazon.com/Cables-Go-30504-Serial-Adapter/dp/B000UO6C5S/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1349877436&sr=8-1&keywords=cables+to+go+sata

Not an ultimate solution, but cheap to get me started.

USB2 is very slow.

Tim Joy
10-10-2012, 09:22 AM
I can attest to that. :)

markmwilliams
10-10-2012, 09:34 AM
For us pre-thunderbolt Mac users, has anyone spotted a good and inexpensive Firewire 900 Caddy?

Brian@202020
10-10-2012, 09:35 AM
Though I was thinking about this the other day USB1, 2, 3 can be bogged down by the processor if it is working on other things hence why you never get 480mbps from USB2. This is the biggest thing I hate about USB. If you use a USB2 to Thunderbolt adapter and plug into a thunderbolt port, I wonder if you will always get 480mbps since the processor will never be bogging it down. Thunderbolt might breath a little bit of new life into USB2 products.

Brian@202020
10-10-2012, 09:42 AM
For us pre-thunderbolt Mac users, has anyone spotted a good and inexpensive Firewire 900 Caddy?

Do you have an Express Card slot? If so eSATA Express Cards are cheap and at 3Gbps is almost 4x faster than Firewire 800 (not 900). I've been doing this for years now. Got the eSATA Express Card for $10 on Ebay with cable and I currently use this (http://www.newertech.com/products/voyagerq.php) for offloading my Hyperdeck Shuttle footage. If you have a little more money you can get a USB3 Express Card which is 5Gbps and use the same caddy.

ianim8
10-10-2012, 09:44 AM
Go with eSATA trust me :)
There are a few options on Google.
I hear folks are using them daily now and having great speeds with MBP as old as 2008.

Brian@202020
10-10-2012, 09:45 AM
Yep that's what I use for my set computer a 2008 MBP.

markmwilliams
10-10-2012, 09:54 AM
Yes I have a late 2008 MBP with Express Card slot (before they replaced them with SD card slots - WTF???). Thanks for the advice - really helpful :)

Brian@202020
10-10-2012, 10:01 AM
I bought this (http://www.ebay.com/itm/Dual-e-SATA-eSATA-to-ExpressCard-Express-Card-Adapter-/160898804046?pt=US_Drive_Cables_dapters&hash=item257650e94e) one. I had to use a Sonnet driver (http://www.sonnettech.com/support/kb/kb.php?cat=345&expand=_a13&action=a3#a3) for the eSATA card to work with Snow Leopard (now on Mountain Lion). It is an off brand, but it must be a rebranded Sonnet.

Edit: The OSX driver might have been a Silicon Image (http://www.siliconimage.com/support/searchresults.aspx?pid=32&cat=3) driver. It's been a while, I can't remember exactly. Either way it wasn't too hard to find a driver that made it work properly.

Dave Chin
10-21-2012, 02:15 AM
i picked up a Unitek docking station w/ hub (for about $60 USD) that does FW 400 & 800 and works quite well. it's perfect for using carbon cloner, and offloading video footage from the bmcc drives. it even kinda looks like a BMCC...

umuima
10-22-2012, 02:49 PM
i picked up a Unitek docking station w/ hub (for about $60 USD) that does FW 400 & 800 and works quite well. it's perfect for using carbon cloner, and offloading video footage from the bmcc drives. it even kinda looks like a BMCC...

Link?

Osslund
10-22-2012, 03:34 PM
I wish Blackmagic would make a Thunderbolt/FW/USB3/ESATA 2.5" SSD dock. I love the way SSD drives slide into the Hyperdeck and would like the same when getting the footy of a SSD.

Dave Chin
10-25-2012, 09:33 AM
Link?

this is the one i have: http://www.espow.com/wholesale-unitek-y-1064-firewire-800-400-usb-2-0-sata-hard-drive-docking-station-for-macs-pcs.html

gsbe
10-26-2012, 10:23 AM
+1
I wish Blackmagic would make a Thunderbolt/FW/USB3/ESATA 2.5" SSD dock. I love the way SSD drives slide into the Hyperdeck and would like the same when getting the footy of a SSD.

umuima
10-29-2012, 07:24 PM
Are there any other FW800 docks under $50 that you guys would recommend?

Amaury Bargioni
10-30-2012, 09:47 AM
hey, i thought of something; since it is possible to hook the bmc to a thunderbolt mbp with ultrascope, is there a way to directly unload footage from the camera to the computer without a ssd dock?

mbeck
10-30-2012, 09:49 AM
hey, i thought of something; since it is possible to hook the bmc to a thunderbolt mbp with ultrascope, is there a way to directly unload footage from the camera to the computer without a ssd dock?
Nope

gsbe
10-31-2012, 04:39 PM
I just performed some speed tests with a Crucial M4 512GB SSD drive plugged into my USB3 port using this Apricorn adapter cable. The Blackmagicdesign Desk Speed Test app was averaging 214.2 MB/s write and 265.5 MB/s read



Try it here then: http://www.amazon.com/Apricorn-Notebook-Drive-Upgrade-ASW-USB3-25/dp/B005C983NA

Or here: http://www.amazon.com/Apricorn-Notebook-Drive-Upgrade-ASW-USB-25/dp/B002EUCU3O/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1349721835&sr=1-1

With rebate we're getting under $15. Stoopid cheap...must be something wrong with it. ;-)

Marshall Harrington
11-14-2012, 11:01 AM
I'm on a Mac Pro and am also wondering what to use.

What about this one.

http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/NewerTech/Voyager/Hard_Drive_Dock

Brian@202020
11-14-2012, 02:11 PM
That's what I have (Q model). I use it with the ESATA on my 09 Macbook pro via ExpressCard to ESATA adapter. PCIe ESATA cards are cheap for Mac Pro's and you'll get some good speeds.

Osslund
11-20-2012, 05:50 AM
A Sound Devices Pix Caddy might work to dock SSD drives. It has FW800/ESATA and USB3 and it's a very small device. But will it work?

KyleMcConaghy
11-25-2012, 10:17 AM
Really dumb question: are the ssd cards the same size as the Sony sxs cards. I so, can you offload your footage using the slot on a 17" mbp?

Learvis
11-25-2012, 12:50 PM
Really dumb question: are the ssd cards the same size as the Sony sxs cards. I so, can you offload your footage using the slot on a 17" mbp?

No they're not the same size Kyle you'll need some type of caddie or some portable hard drive connector to offload your footage. Now if you were shooting with a Arri Alexa you could use the slot!

billy yahoo
11-27-2012, 09:43 AM
i am new to SSD's and want a simple solution to download footage that will work with my 2 Mac computers; a 2010 Mac Pro Tower and the new 21 inch iMac ( comes out this month ). The new iMac has USB3 only it seems. Can somebody reco' something easy for me?

billy yahoo
11-28-2012, 12:18 PM
just hoping for an answer to my question above. Any help is much appreciated.

gsbe
11-28-2012, 12:21 PM
The new iMac (http://www.apple.com/imac/specs/) has these connections and expansion slots:


SDXC card slot
Four USB 3 ports
Two Thunderbolt ports
Mini DisplayPort output with support for DVI, VGA, and dual-link DVI (adapters sold separately)
10/100/1000BASE-T Gigabit Ethernet (RJ-45 connector)


i am new to SSD's and want a simple solution to download footage that will work with my 2 Mac computers; a 2010 Mac Pro Tower and the new 21 inch iMac ( comes out this month ). The new iMac has USB3 only it seems. Can somebody reco' something easy for me?

billy yahoo
11-28-2012, 02:57 PM
The new iMac (http://www.apple.com/imac/specs/) has these connections and expansion slots:


SDXC card slot
Four USB 3 ports
Two Thunderbolt ports
Mini DisplayPort output with support for DVI, VGA, and dual-link DVI (adapters sold separately)
10/100/1000BASE-T Gigabit Ethernet (RJ-45 connector)


Ok thanks but can you explain how those ports fit into my question? Which port will I be using to download the SSD into the iMac? Can I use the same dock/device for both of my computers?

gsbe
11-28-2012, 04:14 PM
Ok thanks but can you explain how those ports fit into my question? Which port will I be using to download the SSD into the iMac? Can I use the same dock/device for both of my computers?
This is a question that you will have to answer because your Mac Pro doesn't share these faster, more modern connections.

The best connection that is exists on your MacPro without buying anything else is Firewire 800. The fastest connection on your upcoming iMac is Thunderbolt. You can purchase a FW800/Thunderbolt adapter that would work, but there are faster (and more expensive) options available to connect an SSD to your old Mac Pro.

I think everyone is still waiting for the ultimate solution to this problem...thus this thread. Even when you're equipped with the answers to these questions, there still aren't any perfect solutions in my opinion for Mac Pro users:

how soon do you need it?
how fast does it need to go?
how much can you spend?

billy yahoo
11-28-2012, 05:27 PM
This is a question that you will have to answer because your Mac Pro doesn't share these faster, more modern connections.

The best connection that is exists on your MacPro without buying anything else is Firewire 800. The fastest connection on your upcoming iMac is Thunderbolt. You can purchase a FW800/Thunderbolt adapter that would work, but there are faster (and more expensive) options available to connect an SSD to your old Mac Pro.

I think everyone is still waiting for the ultimate solution to this problem...thus this thread. Even when you're equipped with the answers to these questions, there still aren't any perfect solutions in my opinion for Mac Pro users:

how soon do you need it?
how fast does it need to go?
how much can you spend?


thank you. I guess I will download tp the new iMac thru a thunderbolt connection. What do I need to buy to go from the SSD to the iMac thru thunderbolt, a thunderbolt cord? And then the Mac Pro, I have several FW 800 cords, hopefully one of those will fit. If it gets painful waiting for download, what is the fastest way?

Liam
11-28-2012, 06:48 PM
thank you. I guess I will download tp the new iMac thru a thunderbolt connection. What do I need to buy to go from the SSD to the iMac thru thunderbolt, a thunderbolt cord? And then the Mac Pro, I have several FW 800 cords, hopefully one of those will fit. If it gets painful waiting for download, what is the fastest way?

You can use a Seagate GoFlex, it's a Thunderbolt adapter/caddie and is around $150, look it up, it's what I am thinking of getting.

billy yahoo
12-16-2012, 06:16 PM
You can use a Seagate GoFlex, it's a Thunderbolt adapter/caddie and is around $150, look it up, it's what I am thinking of getting.

i looked it up, is this it?
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/860104-REG/Seagate_STAE122_GoFlex_Desk_Thunderbolt_Adapter.ht ml

if so, I do not fully understand what it does. is this all i need to download footage from my SSD to the computer ( via thunderbolt)? I have never used an SSD, and the only thing this thread has done is confuse me more.

teh
12-17-2012, 10:19 AM
I believe this one is the best one for mobile offloading of ssds via thunderbolt:

http://www.amazon.com/Seagate-Portable-Thunderbolt-Adapter-STAE128/dp/B009HQCARY/ref=dp_ob_title_ce

This could also be a very fast and cheap way to store your data on set. What I have in mind is plugging the ssd into the seagate, transfer footage onto internal HDD of my MBP as a first backup, unplug ssd and plug in a regular 2.5" hdd into seagate and transfer footage on this drive for a second backup.

What do you think about this setup? Would probably still be faster than transfering the footage on to the internal drive and an external fw800 drive at the same time. My MBP has no usb3 yet.

rick.lang
12-17-2012, 03:48 PM
I believe this one is the best one for mobile offloading of ssds via thunderbolt:

http://www.amazon.com/Seagate-Portable-Thunderbolt-Adapter-STAE128/dp/B009HQCARY/ref=dp_ob_title_ce

This could also be a very fast and cheap way to store your data on set. What I have in mind is plugging the ssd into the seagate, transfer footage onto internal HDD of my MBP as a first backup, unplug ssd and plug in a regular 2.5" hdd into seagate and transfer footage on this drive for a second backup.

What do you think about this setup? Would probably still be faster than transfering the footage on to the internal drive and an external fw800 drive at the same time. My MBP has no usb3 yet.

Only drawback I see is you only have one Thunderbolt connection. Personally I don't want to buy TB devices that must be at the end of the chain. But maybe an exception for offloading from the SSD is warranted. But in practice you may want that extra TB port for pass through to a monitor or a RAID, etc.

teh
12-17-2012, 06:04 PM
I'll not use/need an extra monitor or any other raid. In this case I'll only use my macbook for simple offloading and backuping.

I'd get this housing (http://www.amazon.de/ORICO-XG-2501P-Festplattengeh%C3%A4use-SATAI-HDDs/dp/B007F9AFIG/ref=pd_bxgy_computers_img_y) and put in a regular 1TB 2.5" HDD. And connect it to my MBP via the Seagate Thunderbolt Adapter, just like my SSD from my BMC.

Is this a good plan?

rick.lang
12-18-2012, 03:22 PM
I'll not use/need an extra monitor or any other raid. In this case I'll only use my macbook for simple offloading and backuping.

I'd get this housing (http://www.amazon.de/ORICO-XG-2501P-Festplattengeh%C3%A4use-SATAI-HDDs/dp/B007F9AFIG/ref=pd_bxgy_computers_img_y) and put in a regular 1TB 2.5" HDD. And connect it to my MBP via the Seagate Thunderbolt Adapter, just like my SSD from my BMC.

Is this a good plan?

That should satisfy your needs to backup from your laptop. How can you go wrong for only 6,99€?

billy yahoo
12-19-2012, 07:58 PM
I am curious about formatting the SSD the first time you use it with the BMC. Say you have your SSD in a caddy and you hook it up to a Mac, then what do you do?

nickjbedford
12-19-2012, 08:10 PM
Open Macintosh HD/Applications/Utilities/Disk Utility.

Select the SSD in the list.

In the Erase tab enter a name for the volume and click Erase.

Done.

teh
12-20-2012, 01:52 PM
That should satisfy your needs to backup from your laptop. How can you go wrong for only 6,99€?

After some more research I will probably go for the seagate backup plus 2.5" 1TB which will directly connect to the Adapter http://www.amazon.de/Seagate-STBU1000200-Portable-externe-Festplatte/dp/B0084LZI7C/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1356029478&sr=8-1.

Its 85€ and a regular 2.5" will not really cost me less so this seems even easier.

Wuudi
12-21-2012, 02:43 AM
I finally bought my SSD set and USB3.0 adapter. It's not really a caddy, it's the cheapest thing I could find but it really does the job perfectly:
1829

I've run some tests on my laptop. Transfer speed is find I'd say:

1830

Martin
12-21-2012, 06:17 AM
That should satisfy your needs to backup from your laptop. How can you go wrong for only 6,99€?

It is SATA, not eSATA. Also, it is a 9.5mm housing, which may or may not fit your drive.

I bought this: http://www.amazon.de/ORICO-Festplattengeh-Enclosure-Werkzeuglose-Installation/dp/B009VRD1BI/ref=sr_1_1?s=ce-de&ie=UTF8&qid=1356088149&sr=1-1
It fits both 9.5 and 12mm drives.

I had great experience with this one on a job which made me buy my own; offloading footage from an SSD via the Orico 2598 eSATA to a RAID 0 2x 3TB Seagate Barracuda, 140GB in 7 mins. Using an Atto SAS H680 HBA (non-raid). So an hour of BMCC footage should take roughly 25 mins. USB3 should be faster in theory.

Soon after buying i found almost the exact same case (different brand, same design) here for less than half the price:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/280972820174?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1438.l2649
and even cheaper if bought in a lot of 6: 14 bucks per case!
http://www.ebay.com/itm/271064561513?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1438.l2649

Martin
12-21-2012, 07:08 AM
correction: actually the orico has both USB3 and eSATA. The one on ebay is USB3 only, hence the cheaper price.

podio
12-21-2012, 12:30 PM
I'm still looking for a solid SSD housing that will work with Thunderbolt and FW800. One that will work with 2.5" only. Not made of plastic, and bus powered.
Any luck there?

electricpig
12-21-2012, 08:31 PM
likewise. would seem a winner. But no-one seems to be making one.
Simple, and not a caddy.

gsbe
12-25-2012, 01:46 AM
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B005UA3I72

eSATA and USB3...docs with those 2 options are all about the same price: $35-50 USD

I'd like to see a dock with Tbolt, USB3, FW800, and eSATA. Hopefully that would future-proof it for a few years, anyway. :)

kevin baggott
01-05-2013, 11:15 AM
I bought this for my I-mac 2011 to use with thunderbolt. If you do go this route - as I read somewhere suggested - be careful you don't try and force the ssd all the way in the dock - like I almost did - duh - anyway - I was able to format by 480 sandisk ssd - and the ssd records fine in the camera but when I try to download the footage - these are just tests btw - no go - i hear this whirring noise on the caddy - :( I've read now that folks have had this problem with this particular dock because it's not so happy playing with 3rd party ssd's. I don't know.... Anyone having any luck with another thunderbolt dock? thanks.
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/840972-REG/Seagate_STAE121_GoFlex_Thunderbolt_Adapter.html

Frank Glencairn
01-05-2013, 11:49 AM
It is SATA, not eSATA. Also, it is a 9.5mm housing, which may or may not fit your drive.

I bought this: http://www.amazon.de/ORICO-Festplattengeh-Enclosure-Werkzeuglose-Installation/dp/B009VRD1BI/ref=sr_1_1?s=ce-de&ie=UTF8&qid=1356088149&sr=1-1
It fits both 9.5 and 12mm drives.



+1 for the Orico. Just got it and it works like a charm. I get speeds up to 230 MB/sec over USB3
The only bit of grief is, that the latch that pushes the SSD in and closes the housing is a bit fiddly (but workable).

If someone is looking for a real dock (like for your desktop), that can download two drives at the same time,
the Thermaltake Black X Duet 5G is the fastest out there.
http://www.thermaltakeusa.com/Product.aspx?C=1346&ID=2047

Frank

kevin baggott
01-06-2013, 09:19 PM
Anybody been able to download a sandisk 480gb ssd by thunderbolt? And if so what dock did you use? I bought the seagate go flex and it seems to work fine with 240gb but seems to be choking on the larger 480 - I need to return mine and pick something else up. Would rather not use usb3 if thunderbolt will work :)
mucho thanks
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/840972-REG/Seagate_STAE121_GoFlex_Thunderbolt_Adapter.html

rick.lang
01-06-2013, 11:21 PM
Anybody been able to download a sandisk 480gb ssd by thunderbolt? And if so what dock did you use? I bought the seagate go flex and it seems to work fine with 240gb but seems to be choking on the larger 480 - I need to return mine and pick something else up. Would rather not use usb3 if thunderbolt will work :)
mucho thanks
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/840972-REG/Seagate_STAE121_GoFlex_Thunderbolt_Adapter.html

Return or exchange? It should support up to a 4TB drive. Something is wrong. Hopefully if you exchange it, the next one will be fine. Did you consider the Seagate Backup Plus?

kevin baggott
01-07-2013, 12:12 AM
Thanks Rick
I'm going to return it - it should work - think I just got a dud.

kevin baggott
01-07-2013, 09:00 PM
Well if yer thinking of getting this http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/840972-REG/Seagate_STAE121_GoFlex_Thunderbolt_Adapter.html to read a 480 sandisk ssd - think again - I returned the first one thinking it was a thud and now the same problem with the new one. It wont load. Wont show up. Some folks online have complained that it's fine for the 240 gb but they were having problems with the 480 - alas me too. Anyway - guess its usb 3.

rick.lang
01-07-2013, 10:37 PM
Well if yer thinking of getting this http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/840972-REG/Seagate_STAE121_GoFlex_Thunderbolt_Adapter.html to read a 480 sandisk ssd - think again - I returned the first one thinking it was a thud and now the same problem with the new one. It wont load. Wont show up. Some folks online have complained that it's fine for the 240 gb but they were having problems with the 480 - alas me too. Anyway - guess its usb 3.

Apologies putting you through another bad experience! When you exchanged the first one, did you ask about the capacity as I thought it was advertised to take 4TB. I wonder if the Seagate Backup Plus will handle the 480GB Sandisk Extreme. Would be nice if someone from Blackmagic Design would comment on what they use as a dock since they are recommending it. Have you started a thread in BMD's forum to get their attention?

kevin baggott
01-07-2013, 11:38 PM
Hey rick -
I was going to exchange anyhow :)
I did not ask about the capacity since I saw peeps somewhere in regards to the BMC saying to get that dock. But I bet they were using 240gb.
have not started a thread about this on their forum. I guess I should.

rick.lang
01-07-2013, 11:47 PM
Hey rick -
I was going to exchange anyhow :)
I did not ask about the capacity since I saw peeps somewhere in regards to the BMC saying to get that dock. But I bet they were using 240gb.
have not started a thread about this on their forum. I guess I should.

Would be funny if the cheaper Seagate Backup Plus dock actually works with the larger SSDs. I hope someone tries that combo or BMD sheds their experience in this area. So thanks.